Changing File Locations Preferences does nothing

I’ve been using Sketchup for a few years now and have amassed a fairly large Component and Material library. I’ve saved all of those files to my OneDrive folder in similar structure to the default paths under \ProgramData\SketchUp\SketchUp 2019\SketchUp. When I point Sketchup 2019 to those folders in OneDrive, nothing shows up in the Materials or Components list from those different folders; Sketchup continues to list the files folders in the \ProgramData\SketchUp\SketchUp 2019\SketchUp\Materials and \ProgramData\SketchUp\SketchUp 2019\SketchUp\Components. To test this I copy/pasted one of the files in my OneDrive folder to the under \ProgramData\SketchUp\SketchUp 2019\SketchUp\Materials\Wood and it showed right up in the list without closing Sketchup down and restarting. What gives?

Naming folders the same is not the best practice. Why not create a folder with a more comprehensive name like: Resources/SketchUp/Components?
If you create that folder on your Onedrive and set the path to it in Window-Preferences -General, does SketchUp see it?
If not, you might have installed SketchUp incorrectly.
If nit certain, look for the installer file, rightclick on it and choose ‘run as administrator, when prompted, choose ‘repair’

BTW. For components or materials, saving directly to a cloud storage does not directly cause problems, depending on the filesize. It is not recommended for your Models to save directly (Autosave!)to cloud storage, those files tend to grow bigger in size, causing all kinds of conflicts and corrupting the file.

Thanks for the reply Mike.

I’m not sure I see the difference with your comprehensive name and the names that I gave them. Mine are just in a different path in my OneDrive folder, but they are both named \Components or \Materials as in your example. I think maybe something more like \Custom Components or \Custom Materials is likely a better example.