Can't see axis lines or drawn objects

I’m new to Sketchup. I downloaded the 2016 Pro version today.

The screen didn’t show the standard three axes lines, and anything I tried to draw didn’t show up. However, I could select them if clicked where I drew the object. I could also see the prompts in the bottom telling me how to start and close a rectangle.

I closed the program, reopened it, and it prompted me to download 2018 instead. So, I uninstalled 2016 and loaded 2018, 64bit. Same exact issue.

I uninstalled 2018, then reinstalled it. This time I could see the axis lines, but still couldn’t draw a shape. I ran through all my potential driver updates, and had a windows update. Did the update, restarted the computer, and… I’m back to a blank white screen.

I’m also seeing a large lag when I click any thing. When I try to draw, select the items I drew (but can’t see) even just click on the screen, I’ll get a ~5 second lag. I know there’s a plug in that just dropped that should help the lag, but I haven’t seen anything on missing all visuals. I’ve uploaded a screen shot.

Any help would be really really appreciated. Thanks!

When you installed SketchUp did you right click on the installer and choose Run as administrator? If you didn’t, SketchUp is not installed correctly. Find the installer and right click on it. Choose Run as administrator and then the Repair option when it presents. After that, try opening SketchUp again and see if that helps.

Another thing to do is make sure that your Nvidia card is actually being used for SketchUp. Do that in the Nvidia control panel.

That seems to have fixed it! I uninstalled and reinstalled as admin. Nvidia card was being used, but some of the settings weren’t the required settings. Thank you for the help!

1 Like

Dave,

I thought I was good but apparently not. I had the same exact problem with 2018 today, so I decided to roll back to 2017. Figured there’d be less bugs there. Buuut it seems not.