Cad User New to SketchUp

I was a professional mechanical designer for 20 years. I used AutoCAD 2D for 10 years and then SolidWorks for another 10. Now, I am trying to learn and use SU for a home project. This is what I have after many hours. The problem I am faced with now is how to create or modify walls that meet a sloping ceiling. I have used the protractor and made a line at the correct angle and then created a surface to sweep with push/pull. Sometimes it works, but I have to do it so much because of the many wall pieces. Isn’t there a better way?

Also, If I create a new shape on an old surface, even though the old surface was grouped, the new one pulls surfaces or lines from the old one and makes them corrupt. I see people on the tutorials making new parts out, away from the model and then bringing them in. Is this why?

Oh, maybe I can’t upload a file yet as I am new to the Forum as well.

There is no file attached. New forum users do have restrictions placed on them; I’m not sure when the ability to post at least a single attachment is granted. Probably after a couple of more replies, you’ll be anointed with that power. :slight_smile:
The groups (and even more powerful, components) in SketchUp are intended to prevent different bits of “raw geometry” - edges and faces - from interacting with each other. If the edges and faces comprising an old surface were grouped, then the only way that newly-created edges and faces (circles, arcs, etc.) would interact with the old geometry is if you had opened the existing group for editing. Double-clicking on a group or component is the easiest way to open a group or component. Sometimes this can be done unintentionally.

Thanks, Tom. I’ll get it eventually, I’m sure.

I would probably depending on the model, create the slopped roof as a seperate group and use solid tools to trim the walls group with the slopped roof group

You can have a look at the plugin extrudeEdgesByVectorToObject too …