Beginner Sketchup Question - Ceiling Error

Hello! I’m a beginner and have been stuck for several hours on this problem. Thanks in advance for your patience with my question! I’ve read many posts but haven’t found a solution.

I was working to build my ceiling but when I tried to connect all four corners of the ceiling with the line tool - the line tool does not let me make a continuous box. I have to create a new line segment each time (but only on the roof). The line segment tool works correctly everywhere else.

I’ve tried making two triangles and that works but when I group the roof and try to pull it up, it only lets me pull up separate rooms. I’m pretty confused with what I did wrong.

Helllppppp please :upside_down_face:
Assignment4 copy.skp (13.7 MB)

You should be using groups and components to separate the geometry.
Here I have done a triple click to select all connected, then right click Make Group which allows me to create a rectangle on top.
Roof

2 Likes

It looks like @Box has you started. In addition to his point about using groups for your geometry, you should be making sure you have white front faces exposed, not the blue back faces. Applying a color or material won’t fix that, you need to reverse the faces. Make sure face orientation is correct before you start adding materials.

You should learn to use tags correctly. ALL edges and faces should be created and remain untagged. ONLY groups and components get tags. Here I’ve repaired the incorrect usage.
Screenshot - 12_3_2021 , 7_25_04 AM

And purge unused stuff from your models as you go.
Screenshot - 12_3_2021 , 7_25_25 AM
Deleting components you’ve downloaded from the 3D Warehouse only removes them from the model space. It doesn’t remove them from the file, though.

Here I’ve fixed the reversed faces on your walls. I have not grouped them. You can do that.
Assignment4 copy purged.skp (5.3 MB)

I expect this is a school assignment. Is this an interior design assessment or a Sketchup assessment?