Building a Sketchup Bill of Materials Tool

Hi all!

I am a long time developer new to SkechUp development. I have been tasked to build a tool to analyze SketchUp files and produce a bill of materials. It seems like an easy task conceptually until you dig in and realize that you don’t really get named 3D volumes in SketchUp, but rather a huge listing of lines and faces that you need to interpret yourself (please correct me if I am wrong).

I am curious if anyone has any recommendations for tagging volumes and then parsing the quantity and sizes using the SDK.

It seems to me that the only real way I could approach this is by requiring the use of Components or maybe Groups to identify the actual volumes themselves (really just a collection of lines/faces). I think that I would open the file, get the list of components, perform some kind of logic to determine the dimensions of the component based on some assumptions I would have to make, and then I can enumerate the number of each “Type” of component (which is really just a component name) and its dimensions.

Does this sound like I am going down the correct path? I appreciate any help that can be offered… It is really a lot to wrap my head around.

Thanks!

I’m no extension developer but I think you might learn something if you have a look at the variety of existing extensions that do this sort of thing. Have a look at the Extension Warehouse.

Also, search this forum for ‘cutlist’ - several existing plugins have this word in their title.

And in addition to what DaveR has already said about looking in the Extension warehouse, try SketchUcation Plugin Store too.

Correct. In SketchUp, groups and components separate geometry into object contexts. Layers do not and are used for shared display behaviors. Also, geometric primitives need to usually be associated with “Layer0”. The parent group or component can use any other layer.