Bugsplat - SU2024 Tape measure tool

Hi! I am taking an online SketchUp course - every time I try to use the Tape Measure tool, my program crashes. Any advice on what is causing this/how to work around it?

I have the 2024 version. I am new to this program and not at all tech savvy; here to learn! Thanks in advance

1 Like

Your profile says you are using SketchUp for Schools which is the web based version for young school children. Is that what you are using? What operating system and graphics card? You put “2024” in your forum profile but that is not an answer to either question.

Are you sending in the Bug Splat reports with your email address attached so they can be looked at?

1 Like

Hi DaveR,

Thanks for the quick reply. I am using SketchUp Pro - I’ll change the info on my profile. As mentioned, I am not tech savvy and entered 2024 as a means to advance as I did not know what operating system and graphics card meant.

I am using a macOS Monterey Version 12.7.5, graphics Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB (does that answer your question??)

I have received multiple Bug Splats for numerous issues (I’ll create separate reports for those) and have submitted my email for those.

Thanks

1 Like

I have exactly the same problem on a Macbook Pro running Monterey 12.7.5 with Intel Iris Graphics 6100.

Intel Iris Graphics 6100 is not compatible with the new engine
can you confirm it’s turned off (preference / graphics / use classic engine)

both your macs might be on the lower limit of compatibility on this one

1 Like

I don’t seem to be able to turn it off using your sequence. There is no obvious graphics option under preferences.

The computer is ancient.

I’m not certain, as I don’t have an ancient Mac to test, but it is possible that on detecting an unsupported graphics card SketchUp automatically reverts to the “classic” engine. In that case there would be no option to choose between new and classic.