Bizarre: Push/pull changing surfaces to faces?

Hello,

I’m completely new to sketchup, and have mainly been learning it from google searches and playing around. This particular problem seems to be so bizarre that I can’t find any information on it.

Basically, I’m trying to make a small object with several raised surfaces as solids. I have the border and the internal shapes raised 1.5mm, and I want the background plate to be about 0.5mm. However, when I use push/pull on the background and bring it to the level I want (really anything beyond 0.3mm), some of the surfaces on the raised shapes change to faces. They begin showing all their segment lines as well, and are transparent. If I return the background to 0, the problem persists, so I have to undo in order to fix it. But I need to background to be a solid for printing, so it needs to be raised.

When viewed from the other side, those same shape segments are perfectly fine, it is only on the part that will be visible. If I add the other surface to the background to solidify it, the problem also persists. I have no idea what is causing this, or how to fix it. I just want a simple solid object (no hollow places) to print.

Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

I am attaching the project file; after pulling it, and you can see that some curves are now transparent faces.

nod ring WTF.skp (2.2 MB)

Thanks!

There’s something wrong with your link (for me), but you should create the object much bigger (scale 100x or 1000x) to avoid the famous small faces issue…

Cotty, although clicking the link doesn’t work, copying the link does.