Best practices for documenting a house's floor plan

OK I’m a long term IT pro, so pretty technical but SketchUp is a new thing outside my core area of expertise.

Trying to document our rather complex house floor plan, I find myself down a rabbit hole, and think I need to step back and re-analyze my core practices or approach.

I’ve watched quite a few videos so get the main functionality and features of SketchUp (just still a bit confused on managing groups vs. tags).

I’m wondering what folks here would recommend though.

I started by measuring the outside of the house. Then moved to try to document the inside rooms. Nothing in this house lines up very well (lots of remodels have happened over the years), so it’s quite a challenge.

So now I’m thinking of scrapping the whole thing and doing the opposite approach. Ignoring the small detail differences and drawing out the internal rooms in rectangles only - working from the outside in - because I ran into many problems moving from outside to in - lots of measurements were wrong and I was constantly adjusting walls. Which would affect the next wall, and the dominos kept falling.

What is the best approach? And mainly - when I measure rooms beside each other how do I piece those together and account for the thickness of the walls? For example I can measure two rooms next to each other, but I can’t put those rectangles exactly together because if I push/pull I’ll rob Paul to pay Peter, or vice versa. And similarly, how do you deal with baseboards? Do deduct 1" here, a 1/2" there?

I think perhaps if I get these core principles understood, it’ll be easier going forward. And if anyone has a recommended UDemy course for this specific kind of thing, that would be great. The goal is to: draw out the layout of the house, and use this framework as a thing to assist with potential remodel ideas (in 3D). I also have to deal with a 2nd floor - and I’m not sure how to handle that either!