General tips and best practices for creating a full 3D model of our house

I’m pretty new to SketchUp, but have been watching training videos and messing around. I’m also an IT Engineer as a trade, so fairly technical.

I’d like to draw our entire house into SketchUp and a looking for advice of experts on how to best go about that - or if you have specific training videos that walk through various aspects of this kind of thing.

Things like: which order to do things is best? I’m almost thinking that after messing around a bit that it might be best to start with the measurements of the outside wall first - noting windows, doors and such. Then add the offsets for those outside walls. Then move onto the measurements of the inside walls, add offsets. Then do the push/pull thing up of the various walls and work on the vertical/3D aspects.

But as I know very little, I thought I’d ask here before I get too far along and create a complex web of errors that are difficult to adjust later.

Also, perhaps input on what and when to group during that process. I’m a little unclear if I get my measurements wrong, and I have a 3D box or series of rooms, how to most easily say - move this wall out 3", and move with it the attached wall, extending the length of a room, for example. I want to be able to make minor adjustments in that later ensuring walls stay straight, vertical and don’t get weird on me.

I know that’s a lot packed in there.

Thanks in advance though! This is fun stuff.

Sounds good. You can essentially draw 2d floor plan for the walls interior and exterior, however you draw it, and then push-pull the walls up. Add doors and windows after. Make elements into groups or components as soon as possible. Using an exterior outline and offsetting all of that in one go is a common approach.