How to start creating interior design with Sketchup

Hi, guys,

I am new to SketchUp, and i am sorry if my question is a bit silly :slight_smile: i want to learn how to make 3d visualisations, and at first i will try to redesign my own house, so decided to learn how to work with SketchUp :slight_smile: i made almost all projects for beginners that i found on Youtube, and now i want to try to make a design for my home. From what should i begin? Do You guys, who create interiors, start with sketches on paper, and then make it on SketchUp? How it works? I will appreciate all your answers.I found it very interesting working with SketchUp, i want to learn making 3d visualisations :)Thank You!

Hi,

I’m not sure about your background with other CAD software, or for that matter familiarity with the general practices of creating architectural drawings. So, I’ll assume that we’re starting from the beginning here, and hopefully I won’t create trouble for having done so.

I think the first good habit to get into is to ‘Draw to Full Scale’ within SketchUp. Ideally, you should be able to measure a distance within your SketchUp drawing… and have that match the actual dimensions of whatever it is you happen to be modeling.

So to this point the first steps in getting started are to take measurements for the wall dimensions of the rooms you want to model. You can draw directly into SketchUp as you’re doing this. But the easier way to go is to just take some traditional pencil and paper notes as you’re going around to measure Wall Lengths, Heights, and the locations for each of the existing Doors and Windows. Nothing fancy is needed here… just a rough sketch with some dimensions on it so you don’t have to try and remember so much at any one time.