Approximate "~" sizes in Open Cut List

I’m fairly new at Sketchup and really new to the Open Cut List extension.

When generating a parts list for my drawing I found some surprises in the size of some of my parts. Several are listed as approximate size with the tilde “~” symbol. (~3/4, ~9/16, etc.)

However when I go back to the model and check their dimension with the tape measure tool they appear to be the correct size.

After reading a few other posts I checked and my units are set to fractional with 1/64 precision.

What am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?

Hall Table.skp (173.2 KB)

On my phone so can’t check your model now, but I’d speculate that component axes aren’t aligned with the edges of the boards.

The tilde indicates you have dimensions that fall between precision units. In your case it looks like this is due to what might be an error you induced early in the modeling by imprecise placement of one side of the case compared to the other. I expect you wanted the case to be 36 in. wide. Since you didn’t get this placement done precisely, other dimensions such as the lerngth of the drawer fronts is off.

You’ve also got components with oddball dimensions such as in the case of the Front stile.

If you zoom in very close you can see that the top edge of the stile is not aligned on axis with the bounding box. That implies some off-axis drawing.

You could fix the model or maybe get away with ignoring the tildes. Personally, being kind of AR about this sort of thing, I would fix the model.

Keep in mind that the cutlist extensions are only reporting what you have modeled.

FWIW I couldn’t leave it alone. I redid the model to get rid of the approximate dimensions and to make sure all fractions should be easy to deal with. Nothing smaller than 1/16 in.

Screenshot - 9_6_2020 , 6_26_05 PM