Align two objects together

pillar and cap.skp (6.6 MB)
HI, I have two rectangles I need to align. Basically one is a stone pillar and I am trying to sit a pier cap on top which is slightly bigger in both length and width. I’m trying to position it on top so the overhang is equal around the pillar. I can obviously look at the side of the pillar and centre the cap left - right but then if I try to centre forward-back it snaps against the object so I can only centre one side. I’m a beginner so any help would be appreciated as I have a few pillars to do.

You can use the various inference points to put the two together.
Here I have used Alt to cycle through the various points until I am able to select the bottom middle point, then I inference the mid points of two edges to get the centre.
Centre to centre
I’m not sure what key alt is on Mac but it should tell you in the bottom status bar.

2 Likes

Thank you that’s really helpful. I have managed to cycle through the various points (it’s the command key on Mac). Whilst I can drag over to the pillar and select the first mid-point, then the second, it doesn’t retain them both like your video, so it then doesn’t snap to the centre. Any suggestions please on how to retain the two mid-points?

How about sharing your .skp file so we can see what you have set up?

On Mac the command key does this cycling of inference points, though more often option is the equivalent of Windows’ alt key.

1 Like

Just uploaded Dave :slight_smile:

Is the cap really supposed to be slightly beveled?

With your pillar and cap turned as they are, use midpoints on the cap to align to midpoints on the pillar. For the second Move operation I got the magenta Parallel to Edge inference and then hit the Down arrow key to lock it.
move
This kind of thing would be easier ifyour pillar and cap were aligned with the model axes.