Activate an older version of SketchUp

The former free version, SketchUp 15, is on my computer. I haven’t used it for months and when I try to open it recently, I got a message that the license is expired, or words to that effect. I am an amateur and infrequent user, but I am familiar with version 15 and really don’t want to learn a new version or to break my bank for a couple of uses per year.

Is there a way I could re-activate SketchUp 15? I’m willing to pay for it. I have tried the free web version and it is just too slow and clunky.

Show us a screenshot of the message you are seeing.

Hi DaveR,

Thank you for the prompt response.

Not sure what you mean by meeting. I couldn’t find the SketchUp 15 .exe file again. I did find a Layout.exe. Here is a snip of it.

Bill Lovern

SKETCHUP LICENSE INFO.pdf (373 KB)

It was “message” not “meeting”.

So do you have your SketchUp 2015 Pro license information? It would have been sent to you in an e-mail. If not you can try to retrieve your license here: https://www.sketchup.com/license/renew

Keep in mind that a lot of things like the 3D Warehouse, Add Location and other web-based services don’t support SU2015 and haven’t for years. If you need those it’s time to upgrade to the current version.

DaveR,

I finally found the SketchUp.exe file on my computer. Attached is a snip shot of what I get when I try to open it.

As far as I can remember, the only version I ever had was the free one. I think I first got it in 2010. I believe it was owned by Google at the time. I have a model file dated 11/16/2010, so I know I’ve had it since then.

I don’t remember it ever being called Pro, and I’m fairly certain I never paid for it. I wasn’t aware that I ever had a license. I guess I did, but I didn’t record it anywhere.