A simple but annoying problem

Out of respect for your time I’ll keep this short. I’m a complete newbie to sketchup so I’ve recently been following tutorials to quickly improve my abilities. I’m no proffesional but someone who likes architecture and I’m thinking about studying as an architect (just turned 18). The problem is that I’m trying to create an object (a cylinder) with some intresting patterns (for practice) and went about doing it by making one half, copying it and then putting the copies together. However, I ended up with two main problems but can only show one as I can only upload one picture.

1#
I don’t know how to remove this line and make the two parts one part. It’s the line that goes straight down through the middle. (these are two identical parts joined together) without removing the surface it connects to. I’ve tried smoothing (is that a word?) and welding (welding addon) :

You actually want to Soften that edge, rather than erase it…

In the erase command, hold down the CTRL and then click on the line.

Another way to soften the line is to right-click on the line, and choose Soften from the contextual menu.

if you ultimately want it as one item, you could explode your two halves, delete the line and regroup it all.

1 Like

I was just typing this same answer when I realized that you may still need that edge. You may be dealing with faces on both sides of the vertical edge that are not coplanar.
Then to soften the vertical edge is your only option.

1 Like

All suggestions actually worked out- I got rid of the annoying line, Thanks guys!
However, I cant seem to get rid of the line on the inside of the cylinder and I cant make the two pieces one piece without grouping them together which really doesn’t merge them. Also can I fix that visual bug in the picture. Any advice :)?

Upload the .skp file so we can get an exact answer to your questions. Use the seventh button from the left in the reply menu.

Here you go.skp (2.2 MB)

Thank you sir!