2D Vector Export Advice Needed

I am relatively new to Sketchup and I would very much appreciate some advise. I have been digging around for hours but I cannot find an ideal solution.

I have a 3D model in Sketchup Pro which I need to export as a various 2D vector graphics.

I manage fine with the PDF and EPS exports keeping the vectors intact but I would like to see if anyone knows of any options to make my life easier.

When I export the model and open it in a vector illustration application, I can see through the model, basically a full wireframe. Is there any way to export this so that the surfaces is opaque but still vector? Basically, so that the vector only contains lines of the edges that can be seen? I have tried layout but it is not really working. Any way to do this direct from Sketchup?

Your help would be much appreciated.

The export result depends on the display style you are using when exporting. The Wireframe and Hidden Line styles both export a wireframe drawing, whereas the other styles substitute your faces with 2D filled polygons.

If you get a full wireframe regardless of the display style you use, the fault lies with the OpenGL support of your display driver software. You might try updating the driver, or, as a workaround, turning off Hardware Acceleration from Window menu>Preferences>OpenGL while exporting. Restarting SketchUp is required before changing the OpenGL settings become effective.

Anssi

Since you have the PRO version, you should have a look at Layout for more export options.

Thanks so much for the reply Anssi.

I am trying to export keeping the vectors intact so exporting as EPS or PDF from Sketchup.

The driver update and the OpenGL recommendation you made has had no effect and when exporting I still see the complete wireframe even though I have tried all display views.

Thanks again!