2021 general queries

First question -I’m still having difficulty understanding the whole subscription license business. If I have a subscription license and do not renew it in the future does that mean I can’t open the file anymore in Sketchup because I don’t have access to Sketchup?? If that is so, would it not be wise to save it as an earlier version which I can open because it was a Classic license?
Secondly I have 2021 activation code which I must use before 29/01/21 as that is when my maintenance and support ends and as yet I haven’t installed it. I am assuming if I do it will stay on the computer but not get any upgrades after this date. what happens to any files created in it?
Finally I have looked at the info on new features and can’t see anything apart from the tag upgrade that will make any difference to me. On first impressions these upgrades feel somewhat underwhelming again. I don’t want to miss out on future upgrades that may be operationally significant but I really don’t want to be dragged into a fear purchase. Keep upgrading or lose out. Is it sensible to carry on or not?

Your 2021 license should work even if you don’t get around to activating it before your support ends.

One of the new things in 2021 is that the file format was changed to be future proof. If you were to try the subscription for a couple of years, and made files in the 2022 or 2023 versions, those files would still open in your 2021 Classic license version. You could test to make sure that is true as you go along.

Thank you Colin. Does that also mean that from 2021 onwards those files can’t be opened by earlier versions?

No new versions of just about any software can be opened by earlier versions.
But, you can back save so things created in new versions can be opened in earlier versions.
And all versions can be opened in the web version,