Dynamic component runtime error on MAC

I’ve spent a couple hours on my MAC, but cannot figure out why the ERROR msg “Invalid entity to animate (“X”)” occurs whenever I edit values in a previously-working animation function. Does anyone know how to avoid this situation?

Here’s how to recreate the problem:

1. Download Sketchup’s basic animation example, i.e., Car moving along 12 inch ruler;
  2. Without editing anything, I can successfully run the example;
  3. View the ANIMATE(“X”,0,6,12) command in the Component Attributes window;
  4. Edit any non-digit character to the right of ANIMATE(", e.g., replace “X” with “X”, or remove/replace the ending parenthesis or any comma, etc.
  5. Any attempt to run the animation causes the runtime error to occur.

Re-installing the 30-day trial version of SketchUp 15.3.239 and shutdown my MAC (10.9.5) didn’t solve the issue. Any thoughts?

I’m not an expert on DC’s, but I notice that this problem goes away if I remove the quotes around “X”. For example, editing to ANIMATE(X,0,3,6,9,12) works fine on my Mac.

2 Likes

Thanks for looking into this. In the mean time, the insights (i.e., use of an animation attribute) provided by Jim Foltz’s and Wo3Dan in Feb 2015’s thread “Rotation about Y axis Problem” helped eliminate the strange editing error msg. However, even when I put quotes around the attribute (as per Wo3Dan), negative oration values around the Z axis didn’t behave well, e.g., for some reason the X axis rotates when I rotate the Z axis. I’ve even tried changing the axes, but that made matters worse. So, my basic question can be simplified as “who knows how to animate negative rotation around the Z axis?”

for us to trouble shoot the problem it is best that you upload the DC

He’s using this sample from the 3D warehouse:

yes, but he has continued with a query about rotation in regards to some model