Would it be possible to make a topographic map with sketchup web

I’m hoping to make a model / map of my property, its only 1/3 of a acre not much on it I’m mostly wondering how to make accurate elevations and slopes. I figured I would start by taking a GPS elevation reading every few feet in a grid format. but I have no idea where to start in sketchup after i gather my data. Am I able to make a flat surface and adjust points along it? Is there any features i should try? or any other constructive thoughts.

I’m rather new to sketch up, I played with it a couple times but not long enough to get a good feel for it. I do have a little experience using CAD software from 12+ years ago, I’m hoping i can pick it back up quickly.

Any advice or ideas how to / where to start would be much appreciated

What do you plan to use for gathering GPS information? Phones aren’t generally accurate enough to be useful.

You could make the terrain in SketchUp Free but it would be very tedious. You could collect your data points and then manually build a mesh. It would be much easier in SketchUp Pro because you could put your data points in a CSV file that you could import as a point cloud and then connect the points automatically with another extension to create the terrain.

1 Like

I guess a dedicated GPS isn’t much more help… Height is the less accurate number in GPS. you would need a ground station for that.

i was hopeful my phone would work, could you explain what a ground station is?. I really dont need my elevation i just thought it would be a good way to measure the slopes.

I can deal tedious. Pro version would be nice but I’ll have a hard time justifying the purchase just to play with landscaping and drainage ideas. Maybe if i could find more uses for it.

Can you tell me, or direct me to, some more information on a mesh? It sounds like it could be what I’m picturing in my mind.

A ground station is a device that makes GPS more accurate…