Why Sketchup for architectural rendering and not just AutoCad?

I’m VERY new to sketchup but am so far impressed. I’m an architectural renderer with a background in hand painting. I rely on AutoCad for relatively crude 3-d models, that are mostly done in Photoshop. For interiors I rely primarily on AutoCad, and it’s lighting and rendering, with finishing in Photoshop. I found it to be quite impressive and powerful. Why should I invest my time in sketchup? Will it offer anything that cad will not? Everyone talks about SKetchup, but have they really invested time in AutoCad? It’s a powerful program. I sometimes hate certain quirks, but to render well, sketchup is a fair learning curve in itself I assume. I don’t have a lot of extra time, but want to get really good at 3/d modeling/rendering. Sketchup worth the time investment, and why? Your take?

From what I have heard from AutoCad users, the time to learn that program is measured in months. By contrast, you can learn SketchUp and become fairly proficient in a matter of days. I don’t think anyone seriously believes SketchUp can serve as a replacement for AutoCad; the two programs coexist peacefully. In my view, SketchUp is the program to use if you want to create fully detailed 3D models quickly and accurately. SketchUp is intuitive and direct. And, when used with one of some 20 rendering programs, SketchUp models can form the basis of compelling rendered scenes and animations. To me, the answer is obvious: If you want to get really good at 3D modeling and rendering, SketchUp is well worth the time investment.
One more thing: The Pro version of SketchUp is a fraction of the cost of AutoCad. Not only is SketchUp a great program, it’s a great bargain.

8 Likes

I started using CAD Programs at University, (DOGS if I remember correctly), and then progressed to AutoCAD after that. I’ve been using AutoCAD for years, but started using Sketchup Pro May/June this year.