AutoCAD vs SketchUp for interior designers

As a green interior designer I learned AutoCad last year and then started looking into SketchUp and fell in love with the latter. I wonder why someone like me would ever need to use AutoCad if I can do everything in SketchUP? AutoCad seems so serious and heavy while SketchUp is fun, colourful and does the job. I also absolutely adore Layout! I can’t find a reason to keep using AutoCad, but maybe I am missing something?

6 Likes

That’s also true for architects and landscape architects too. There is better software available for what we do than sketchup, no doubt, but it is not AutoCAD. Sketchup is great for our jobs.

2 Likes

The usefulness of CAD or BIM applications depends on the kind of work you do. SketchUp excels in smaller design-oriented projects but if I had to do, for instance, a workplace layout with hundreds of seats I would use something like Revit or Archicad that have some management features, especially scheduling built in. AutoCad, today, seems to be mostly reduced to a file format used in communicating designs to various engineering disciplines that have not yet switched totally to 3D.

1 Like

Well…those are 2 different types of software. Both can work well enough with out each other and they can work with each other. For you and your work you can probably just focus on SketchUp Pro with Layout. I’ve used Acad since r12 and SU since r3 just as a point of reference.
As of right now and in my opinion there is nothing with SU that can replicate AutoCAD’s (AutoCAD Architecture) built in door and window schedules, reference files, detail manager etc. If you don’t and won’t ever need those then don’t worry with it. :wink: Good luck

1 Like

Let architects do the drafting, that’s what they’re for.

2 Likes