What Tutorials Would Help Teach The Basics?

Hello everyone. I’m brand new to SketchUp but have made a few things in other user friendly 3d modeling programs.

I was hoping I might ask what tutorials are recommended if I want to learn how to extrude/pull 2d vectors and then how do I pick areas to soften/push/pull so I can "sculpt it to be more realistic.

For example, I have a vector of a sailfish. I would to extrude it, but then soften some of the edges and push/pull the face of the object to make it more realistic. Then I want to be able to wrap this sailfish model around the edges of a ring.

I believe I will need a plugin or extension in order to wrap things around edges like a ring and in order to extrude curved surfaces?

Thank you,
Rick

You have a vector graphics file of a sailfish. (This file uses vectors to represent geometry.)

In SketchUp you push-pull faces, not 2D vectors…

Start with the 4 part series here:
http://www.sketchup.com/learn/videos/58

Then find other resources:
http://www.sketchup.com/learn

1 Like

Thanks for the links and reply. I will begin there.
And yes a vector is only 2d but all I need is to extrude the top of it and then round the edges of the top. Can’t I import a vector and then extrude it creating a face and edge? So I was wondering what tutorials show that. And It was my understanding that you can raise and lower different sections of a face. Thus it would be a way to sculpt the face.

What does this sailfish look like - is it just a 2D outline?

Yeah. But after reading more it looks like people import adobe illustrator files to do this which I also have. In other words instead of drawing in sketchup before extruding I want to import my flat sailfish outline, then extrude it up. Then soften the edges. I then want to wrap this around a ring.