Closed Edges but can't make or extrude surface

This is probably a problem with my .dwg file but I carefully united/merged all paths of an illustrator image but when I select the entire image and use the “Makes Faces” tool, only a tiny disconnected part of the image works. The entire main body of the sailfish should not have any openings and yet the “Makes Faces” tool does not work on it.

Are really skinny parts of a .dwg image considered to be “open” by Sketchup? Like the skinny nose of the fish for example, could that be the issue? I don’t want to change the image so will scaling it up even bigger help?

Thanks for any advice.

If you attach the dwg one of us can check it, but it is most likely either not flat or has a tiny gap in the line somewhere.

Oh yeah, great idea. I didn’t realize I could attach the file.

here is my .dmg file.

I couldn’t find a gap myself but I’m not very experienced with illustrator. I worked hard on trying to find out how to get rid of all the different paths and anchors so I united the entire Vector. (even though there are two parts technically)

Is it against the rules if I offer a Pay Pal beer buy to anyone who can fix my .dwg ? :slight_smile:sailfishblack.dwg (60.5 KB)

And here is the vector if that helps find my mistake (or sketchup’s error)

sailfishblack.ai (1.6 MB)

Here you go, looks like you were simply in the wrong context. I exploded the two individual groups welded the edges and created the faces.
Sailfish.skp (277.6 KB)

Thank you, Box. By wrong context, what does that mean? Just wondering so next time I create .dwg file from illustrator and need to import into Sketchup I can try to do it correctly like you.

I did read that when people import .dwg files into Sketchup that they should both be in the same measurement increments or Sketchup will not see closed edges of the .dwg file. Is that what you mean by context?

With @Box’s indulgence, I’ll attempt to answer.