Autocad file imported into sketchup

hey,
i’m a student in belgium in the garden architecture and my examens are in januari. No i have a problem with skp… I imported e dwg file into sketchup so the files comes in as lines. No i wanted to create faces with “closing all edges” and “makeface” but the most edges couldn’t close. if i point on the unclosed edge it sais: “no solution”…
help me pleace

I only use Autocad in SU as a reference… remember, it’s better if you build everything in layer 0 and once you are done you make a group/component and then you move it to a specific layer.
If you model using AutoCAD those lines could be in different layers and when you turn on/off layer some of the faces may go off/on depending on the layers.

1 Like

I’m not sure where you are getting “closing all edges” and “makeface”. Those aren’t built-in SketchUp operations so I assume they are from some extension but I don’t know which one so I can’t suggest an answer specific to that extension.

Have you tried ThomThom’s EdgeTools2 from the Extension Warehouse? Small gaps between edges are a very common problem in imported dwg’s and are one of the things this extension is specifically designed to address.

2 Likes

As well as small gaps in CAD edges stopping face formation, if your edges are not coplanar then no amount of such work will get them to have a face.
Three edges with shared vertices, forming a triangle will always ‘face’.
If your edges are not coplanar, then try drawing some diagonal lines to form triangles which should then get faces…
To see the vertices better use a Style with ‘end-points’ checked and drawn between them.
After getting the faces made, if you don’t want to see the new diagonal edges use Erase+Ctrl to ‘smooth’ them.
They’ll be visible in View > Hidden Geometry ON, but otherwise you’ll have a smoothed 3d surface which accepts materials as if it were one face.

2 Likes