Getting Started learning SketchUp

Hey everyone,

I’m new to 3D modelling and Sketchup and I have just finished the two “Fundamentals” modules. Sketchup has me hooked, and I was wondering where to go from here as far as tutorials/learning modules are concerned.

I have no particular long-term goals. Perhaps if I develop my skills sufficiently, I’d tie this with my background in archaeology/heritage management, or gaming 3d modelling.

Thanks for your time and possible tips!

The Sketchup Essentials
This guy is a wealth of info.

2 Likes

I would suggest that you look around for something reasonably manageable to model and start in on it. You can watch all the videos you can find but it’s the actual doing that will give you the skills. Utilize what you have learned and see how far you get. When you get stuck search for videos that might help or take advantage of the forum and ask questions. Start a new thread and go for it. Remember that this is a visual thing. Support your thread with your SketchUp file, screen shots or other images.

1 Like

Thanks everyone for the replies.

I’ll take advantage of my own thread to ask a question about something I’m trying to replicate:

I’m trying to create a column seen in this video How to Make Column In SketchUp | Design - 2 - YouTube

I had been knocking my hard trying to figure out how to make a spiral. For that I used this guide SketchUp Skill Builder: Modeling a Spring - YouTube

The problem I’m having is that my Spiral surface doesn’t stick to a single form as does in the first video (granted that in that case the person is using a plugin). The issue I’m facing is that as I use follow me to create the surface, it bends inwards as it goes, keeping me from matching the surfaces accurately as I make copies upwards.

!

How can I remedy this? Or can I do it without the precision given by a plugin?

In the first video the author used Helix Along Curve. Are you using that extension?