Help bend and intersect item

Hello , i am new to sketchup and have encountered my first problem , I am making a model and cant seem to figure out how to attach this zipper to the curved back of the model , Can anyone explain to me how to make the zipper intersect with and curve to the back of the model like shown in this image: http://i.imgur.com/3otpxJ8.png

Hi ,There a plug in by Chris Fulmer called Shape Bender that will do this

Phil

As may be starting to become clear to you, “bending” and most other forms of deformation and distortion are not normally operations that are used to model objects in SU, and SU doesn’t really have any native tools that are very good at those operations. Typically, if a model of a bent object is what you want, you pretty much have to model it in the bent condition, rather than model it straight and then bend it. CLF-Shape Bender sort of upsets that principle and introduces some nifty new capabilities, but I would advise you to try working with SU’s native tools and normal methodologies for a while–say until you feel you are really pushing against the limits of their capabilities.

It actually would have been pretty easy to model the zipper to fit the case, using the Rotate tool to make a radial array of the zipper teeth that curves right around.

-Gully

1 Like

Gully , thanks for the information , Do you by chance have some links to some tutorial materials that cover that subject ? , As I’m kind of under the gun on this project , However i am doing the learn SU tutorials on youtube to give me a better understanding of it’s uses and capabilities.

Any info on the above mentioned method of the radial array to make the zipper teeth bend ?

Folks,