What laptop should I buy this time?

I’m a kitchen and bath contractor (not a computer guy) and I’ve gotten pretty decent with SketchUp over the years and love it. The laptop I’m using is detailed in the picture below. I specifically bought a gaming computer for the graphics capability (thinking I was pretty smart) but I apparently failed miserably at my choice because the program got a LOT slower, not faster. I move a whole lot quicker than the program and I have to pause and let it catch up.

I’m going to buy a new laptop pretty soon. Anybody got any recommendations?
Laptop ID

Inside SketchUp, choose:
Window (menu) > Preferences (dialog) > OpenGL (panel) > Graphics Cared Details (button)

Hit ALT+PrintScreen to copy the dialog’s image to the clipboard and paste it into a post here using CTRL+V.

Other questions …

In the OpenGL (panel), what is the anti-aliasing set to? (The higher the number, the better and smoother edges will be, but the slower SketchUp will render.)

In your modeling are you using a fast style ? (Fast styles have a little green clock overlay in the bottom right of their thumbnail image.) You can set up a dedicated scene page with a fast style for doing the modeling work, and separate scenes for printing or presentation using better styles (with profiles and textures switched on for example.)

BTW … 8GB of system RAM is on the lighter side. You could have the laptop memory upgraded. In a new laptop look for 16GB or 32GB minimum.

1 Like

Yes 16 gb minimum, always.

Thanks for responding… The anti-aliasing is set to 4x and below is the setting you asked for.

CardDetail.PNG

Okay. good it shows SketchUp is using the dedicated Nvidia GPU.

From my experience the fundamental things to look for are,