What is your favorite mouse and why? Looking for advice on a new mouse for SketchUp

I’ve been using a Logitech G502 Hero for several years now and am wondering if it might be worth upgrading to something made specifically with 3D modeling and/or graphic design in mind. What do these mice do differently than a standard 3 button scroll wheel mouse? I’m also interested in the idea of being able to assign SketchUp keyboard shortcuts to my mouse. I have a few programmable buttons now but not enough I don’t think.

I looked at the Space Mouse and it seems great, but the Pro version is way over my budget (and probably overkill for my needs). I am curious about their compact version and also the CAD mouse. Has anyone used either of these? I understand what makes the regular Space Mouse so special but what about the other two I mentioned? What do they do differently than a normal mouse?

I’d love to know others’ experience with mice and what you like or don’t like about them. If I do decide to buy a new mouse, I’d say my budget is right around $100.

EDIT: I might as well ask about keyboards too. Are there any keyboards that work particularly well with SketchUp or have features to make 3D modeling or graphic design easier/more efficient?

I’ve used Logitech M510s for nearly a decade and they’ve always been great. I’ve worn the feet off a couple of them but never had button or wheel failures. And they aren’t very expensive.

1 Like

I have a Logitech MX Master 3. They are pricey, but well-made and I like its shape. I’ve had it for about 3 years with no issues so far.

3 Likes

Thanks! I was looking at those and they seem really great. Do they do anything special though when using one for SketchUp? I’m just curious what makes them good for 3D modeling.