Weird Artifact on SketchUp Pro 2016

Why there is an artifact on new Sketch Up ?
This is happened when i rotate the view.
Im a beginner btw.

Does that artifact flicker and move as you orbit? If so, it is probably “z-fighting” in which two surfaces are placed at the same location so it is ambiguous which to display.

It happens in my 2015 version…i just rub it out and redraw that bit…sometimes if you’re lucky you can rub it out and be left with a single surface.

It isn’t a version specific thing. It happens in all versions when there are two overlapping faces. The way to prevent it is to not create overlapping faces.

In the case of the OP’s screen shot, putting holes through the walls where the window and door are, would eliminate the “artifact”. It would also help to give the door and window some thickness. As shown, they have zero thickness.

I’ve found it happen on “flat surfaces”…sometimes when i have a shop door window and i want to put an “open/closed” sign in it ( just a cardboard rectangle on a string hanging on a nail )…i draw the rectangle and that’s fine i draw 1 string off it up to the center on the door top and that’s fine…add the 2nd string creating a triangle and it “skewiffs” the whole window ( creating the “artifact” )…not always but quite often.

Changing the way you draw that sign can help you avoid that. Avoid creating the overlapping faces.

1 Like

This is actually expected behavior! When you closed the triangle (top edge of sign and 2 strings), SU assumed you also wanted to create the face defined by the triangle. Just single click the face (double clicking will also select the edges) and delete it.

1 Like

I just realized that my above response might lead to unexpected results!

If you are drawing on the wall - and the wall is NOT part of a component or group, then your triangle has replaced that portion of the wall face - and deleting it will leave a hole in the wall face! Probably NOT what you want. :worried: