[Vray] Sketchup and vray plugin output settings

Hi Im new to sketchup, I have done my model and applied all materials and installed vray plugin. I have to render a 3d scene that is at least A4 size and of good quality. Altough I have set the output setting to the largest default size the render window keeps on rendering at 600x300?? Which is to small and pixelates when I enlarge it. BWill appreciate some advise.

Kind regards

Hey there! If you’re using the trial mode of V-Ray, you can’t get higher resolution. Also if you look closely, you’ll notice small watermarks in your rendering. When you purchase a license, you’ll get watermark-free renderings and as much resolution output as you like.

Hi thanks a lot I had a feeling that that is the problem dammit🙈

No problem. V-Ray is worth it though, if you’re considering to make great photo-realistic renderings. There are several free rendering engines out there as well and some of them can produce good results too.

1 Like

I think there is also a maximum amount of lights that you can put in.
If my memory serves me correct, it was 5.

V-ray is worth it to my idea as well. Quite steep price however.

1 Like

I agree @josephkim626. There is also the much talked about Corona Renderer, have you heard about it? I was stunned by its results the first time I saw it. They’re working on the SketchUp plugin at the moment, if I’m correct.

Whaa, it looks great.

I think you can get stunning results using any type of renderers. It is always battle between time and quality. You spend enough time on it, you will get good results. But often you don’t have enough time or budget, you just resort to less quality quickly. For that we heavily rely on photoshop and the quick results. I would stick with V-ray because it is not well embedded into my workflow and the market is big enough (other 3D modeling softwares as well) to obtain resources.

2 Likes