Virtual Reality device recommendations 2022

Hello!
I’ve been using Sketch Up for a few months, and I would like to jump to VR to be able to see my models. Any particular recommendation for VR glasses?
I’m working with files of around 120 MB and Keyframe Animation 2.2 plug in.
Thank you!

I can confirm that the SketchUp Viewer for VR works on the new Quest Pro and HP MR Headsets. The Quest 2 might be a good choice in terms of value and quality. The SU Viewer for HoloLens 1 also works and is similar to the SU VR Viewer but has AR functionality.

Not that this would be a workflow that I’d normally use, but SketchUp Pro runs on Oculus desktop and the QP controllers and virtual keyboard were able to interact directly with an SU model and other peripherals (e.g., spacemouse) also still worked.

If SketchUp releases an AR/VR version of SketchUp Viewer that runs on QP it will be far and away the best choice.

Maybe @colin can chime in on headsets: did you have a chance to try out QP with SU? Super exciting!

2 Likes

I tried SimLab’s thing. Still getting apps installed. Puzzling Places game looks good with color passthrough.

For LSKD’s question the big problem I see is that it’s using an extension. I don’t think extensions will work in any VR setup.

1 Like

I’m excited to try a number of apps… SimLabs is on the list but I need to check on the free version.

On LSKD’s use of extensions… With SU Pro running on Oculus Desktop I used Dynamic Components. I was using a cable and using SU Pro in Oculus Desktop VR may not be a great VR experience… but it is possible to quickly switch between apps (SU Pro in OD → SU VR Viewer), so we can get a full SU experience in VR right now.

On another note, I don’t have any partners to test collaboration features of SU Viewer HoloLens, SU VR Viewer, or any of the interesting looking features of QP (e.g., Workspaces), so if you’re also looking for partners to test collaboration features let me know.

1 Like