Using picture as background

Dear All,
I am new to Sketchup. I want to use it for a special use, which looks simple to me but I have not been able to make Sketchup do want I Want. Let me explain.

I have a photo with a quadcopter ( .png).

I have a .skp model of the plane.

I want to find the attitude ( orientation) of the quadcopter on the picture by moving the orientation of the 3D model and scale in order to fit the picture of the quadcopter.

I want then to be able to read the orientation parameters of the quadcopter.

I have searched a lot, read some book, see some videos, but am still not able to do it.

I can load the 3D model, orientate it, but I cannot add the photo in the background. I I add it with the Match photo option, it still moves when I move the quadcopter.

Please help

Try importing the image File > Import
You can then scale the image to match the model.

Thanks for a feedback, ad_111, but I dont think importing the image will work.

Meanwhile, I found, searching on the web, which brought back to the forum, that using Watermark does what I want. It let you create a background view that will not move.

So my first problem is solved.

But I have another one. I want to put two copies of the same object in my view, but with two different orientations. Right now, if I move one, the second also moves. I suppose that this is because its just the observer that moves.

How to really move one object with respect to the other one ?

Could you upload the file or attach a screenshot so we can see what is happening?

Well, typically select one object then use the move or rotate tool. If they’re both grouped together or something, that would be a problem, but we don’t have enough info to know what’s going on.

Unfortunately, I cannot provide pictures. It is classified information.

I understand the orbit tool moves the camera, while the rotate tool moves the object.

But the rotate tool is far less flexible than the orbit tool.