Using click-move-click as suggested in the tutorial doesnt work

I am new to sketchup up and trying to follow the video tutorials but the way the describe to do things doesnt work - for drawing a rectangle they say i should click-move-click but doing this does not show a preview of the rectangle before the second click (dragging which they say not to do works correctly - i see the preview as i drag).

Push/pull tool simply does nothing if i click then move, again dragging works.

I have no idea why both the written instructions and the video tutorial both suggest using clicks when they dont seem to work…

Hmmm… I’ve done this so long it is second nature so I had to try both dragging out a rectangle with the rectangle tool and Push/Pull on a face. In both cases It’s click, move the cursor and click again. Exactly as the tutorials describe.

Are you using a mouse? What kind?

Perhaps you could complete your profile with the graphics card in your computer.

I have tried with both an external mouse and the trackpad same behaviour in both cases.

I’ve added my graphics card details

Look at Preferences>Drawing. What is selected for Click Style?

1 Like

It was set to auto detect but the behaviour is the same whatever i set it to…

That’s odd. I don’t see that behavior at all with Auto-detect. What kind of mouse did you try it with? You really shouldn’t be using a trackpad with SketchUp anyway.

Sure I wasn’t intending to be using the trackpad but thought it was worth trying when you asked about the mouse to rule that out as a problem. The mouse is a mad-catz rat 3.

Have you got access to a simple three-button mouse from Logitech or Microsoft? Even just to borrow for a little while.

Hi Neil, hi folks.

A click is a press then a release of the Left Mouse Button (LMB).

To draw a rectangle you click to start the rectangle, then you move to set the opposite corner and finally you click again to complete the rectangle.