Twilight Render - new to rendering

Hi, I’m brand new to Twilight and have been watching videos and reading about it, and I have made some improvements to my model so far:

• changing the whites to slightly off-whites
  • increasing the realism of my drawing by adding door reveals
  • making a specific glass material for rendering
  • adding lights
  • adding space for natural light

I’m still not getting the results I want. I tried registering to ask on the Twilight Forum but they flagged me as a spammer and banned me during the registration process for some reason.

Is anyone able to take a quick look at my model and my resulting render and let me know if anything stands out to you as an error I am making?

The inside of the cabinet looks pretty good but the outside looks so flat.

Thanks!

Lurie Wine Unit - 9_28_23.skp (5.0 MB)

Nathan, here’s you modified model. You’ll be able to see how I set the lighting up for Twilight. Ended up using a Sky Portal behind the camera and three point lights in ceiling cans in front of the casework. Lots of ways the lighting could be set up but chose this as it’s pretty straightforward and renders pretty quick. Changed out the textures in the model for testing. Had quite a mess going on. Raw geometry had been textured and then the group or component was textured over that with something different. Was easier to just start fresh. Did some minor adjustments to the wine case including beveling the various edges. Most edges should be beveled for rendering. Replaced the bottles and such with my own models. Not sure where you got the ones you used but most weren’t going to give good results. For rendering things like glasses and bottles need to be modeled with proper thickness to look give a nice image… if you have questions feel free to ask. Also posting a quick test render.

Lurie Wine Unit_test.skp (4.2 MB)

3 Likes

Wow that looks amazing! I also saw your message, thank you.