Trying to disconnect components that don't show up in cutlist

Hi everyone,
I am brand new to Sketchup Make2017. I watched a woodworking youtube tutorial or two and am designing cabinets for my garage, all out of the same material/thickness, and thought I was doing okay…

Until I installed the Cut List extension and noticed about half of my components are missing/were not calculated. I tried to make each piece of wood an individual component, and when it was an identical piece (left and right side of a drawer) I copied and pasted those.

I am stuck because when I go back into the Components window and choose the second part on my list (ply back.8 drawer combo) It shows the back of the cabinet, along with 3 shelves “glued” to it.

Is there an easy way to break these apart? I tried exploding and also the bomb extension but they are still stuck together. I can always start over but wanted to save a few hours of work by asking here first.

Thanks for any advice you can throw my way!
Ryan

garage cabinets with concrete base.skp (427.9 KB)

The first problem I see is that you haven’t actually created the sides and backs of these tall cabinets as individual components or groups. They are all loose geometry.

The cutlist extensions report the lowest level components/groups so in the case of the tall cabinet, it’s going to report the assembly of the sides and back as a line item and it’ll give the dimensions as if you were going to carve it out of a large billet of wood.

At the other end of the run, you have a bunch of loose geometry, not components or groups, for the end cabinet and the plinth. This geometry should and will be ignored buy the extension.

Double doors like this are created as a single component which means your two doors will be reported as one large door.
Screenshot - 12_12_2020 , 10_17_40 AM

1 Like