Troubles adding a floor to my building

Hi all, this is my first time using sketchup and whilst using tutorials made it quite easy for me to create a layout of the main floor, I’m having troubles trying to add the first floor over it.
When I’m drawing a surface on the top of what I already have it doesn’t mark everything that’s on the inside. Which is fine in the way that I can add the other rooms manually. When I do that though it seemingly looks okay but when later on I am trying to delete the lines from the top floor it also deletes the part of the wall connected to this line downstairs. From what I have seen in the tutorials that shouldn’t be happening. I tried pulling it up, locating it on a different layer etc. yet, there is still the same problem. Furthermore when I hide the top floor layer it seems to be hiding the top of the walls downstairs as well, like in the pic below.

Thank you in advance and sorry if it seems like a basic issue but I have run out of ideas of what to try or google to fix it and I’m stuck.

Send your file so that you can see your problem, for info you can watch my channel youtube (https://www.youtube.com/c/savoirpourtous) to learn the basics of Sketchup or on the site Udemy https://www.udemy.com/sketchup-pour-tous/learn/v4/overview)

Your problem surely comes from your faces, you must first reverse the faces to have white faces and not gray, this is called normal.

Then your Pull / Push has failed, that’s why you end up with a void.

1 Like

Edges and faces are automatically merged and shared wherever they touch in SketchUp, which is most likely what you are experiencing. SketchUp ‘s layers do not separate anything, they just provide ability to make multiple things hidden at once, and hidden geometry will still merge with visible geometry. To isolate entities into separate “contexts” so they don’t interact you must use groups or components.

1 Like

house.skp (183.2 KB)