How to unmerge floors?

SE.skp (2.0 MB)
Hi everyone. I’m new to SketchUp and hope you could help me with this problem of “accidentally” joining two floor together.
I initially created two floor plans side by side and made sure to put them on different layers. Last night I wanted to see how they look when combined and moved the second floor to precisely above the first floor.

This morning when I wanted to move the second floor back to the side, I couldn’t do it without affecting the first floor. It seems like the top surface of the first floor and the bottom surface of second floor have merged together. I didn’t do this on purpose. Any thoughts on how to undo it? It really gives me headache!

One of the early Rules of learning SketchUp is that you Can’t use Layers to separate Raw Geometry.

Instead create Groups, or Components… for these types of things. And use Layers for controlling the ‘Visibility’ of whatever is placed on them.

Also worth mentioning… Don’t draw directly onto other Layers, as this can create a few problem later on that are tricky to sort out. Instead draw everything onto ‘Layer0’… then reassign things to other layers via the Entity Info window… to control visibility,… or, simply to manage project elements.

SketchUp will always merge it’s Raw geometry together even if it’s set onto different layers.

2 Likes

because layers don’t separate geometry. As Jim said.
Not sure what the process would be, but you can post the file here so one can see what you have and show you. Put everything on Layer0. Don’t add layers until you need to. They won’t help you in modeling for the most part.

1 Like

I learned my lesson. Please help check the SKP I’ve attached in my original post, maybe there’s still a way to undo the damage? :cry:

On this occasion your incorrect use of layers and the structure you’ve built actually make it possible to fix.