Trimble connect - collaboration enabled in free web version?

I am a Pro user - working mostly on the desktop version of Sketchup.

Now, I wish to share a model that I work with, with a friend - they viewing the changes being what I want to accomplish.

I know that SU web by default stores models to Trimble Connect.

My question is that if model sharing with another person works, if I am Pro and he is “Web/Free”. What is the combination that works here - only Pro to Pro ? Or even Free to Free ?

Thanks.

A SketchUp file is a SketchUp file so a file you create in Pro and publish to Trimble Connect can be opened in the free web version.

If you only want your friend to be able to look at but not edit your model you could use the online viewer. You would send them a link to the model you’ve published. They could navigate around the model look at it but wouldn’t be able to modify it.

BTW, please update your profile. It appears to be out of date regarding SketchUp version, etc.

If you’ve invited the other person to a Trimble Connect project and share the SketchUp model into it, you can both open the model with SketchUp Free, SketchUp Shop, and even the desktop version SketchUp Pro.

Note: SketchUp Free may not be used for commercial purposes.

Thanks, it looks like what I want to do would work out - using Trimble Connect (basically I want to avoid the step of emailing the .skp file - for him to view my changes).

You can go to connect.trimble.com and sign in. Then go to your files, tick the checkbox for the file you want to share and over on the right click the Share icon (two heads). In the Share Data panel chose the desired Share with option and complete the rest of it. With View Only chosen for Access, he can only look at your model but not modify it.