Transitioning from line drawing to component

Hi

I am new to SketchUp trying to create a smokebox for a model locomotive. It is simply a circle with a rectangle centred with two arcs to smooth the edges…all seemed to be going ok…I created the line drawing and turned it into a component…

But when I select I get a blue box around my drawing that was not something I put in place!

It means that I cannot pull…

Now I may have created this problem when I tried to centre the circle and the recta!ngle,I used the move tool but unsure if I did it right……

This is what i drew…

this is what I have after creating the component and selecting…

Any clues? Thanks in advance the support I have had from this forum has been fantastic.

Can you share the .skp file?

First, you need a face for Push/Pull to act on. You don’t appear to have that face. This could be due to the edges not laying on the same plane or because there is a small gap meaning you haven’t got a closed loop of edges.

Once you have the face, you also need to have the component open for editing so you can make modifications to it.

ahhhh - it could be a small gap…where I tried to smooth the edges…is there something I should do to ensure it is watertight?

stephenson smokebox.skp (87.6 KB)

Thank you Dave…

Two things:

• you must open the component for edit before you can do anything to it
  • you should trace an edge to cause SU to create a face for pushpull to act on

One problem is that you’ve got a bad spot on each side.where the shape necks down. The curves don’t join properly.

I sent you a PM.

boiler

Steve shows you how to get the face but that will leave you with some geometry that needs to be resolved before the shape will be considered a solid. I’m not sure when edge segments you’ll want to get rid of or if you’ll wind up with the shape you really want with either of them.

Ah yes. I didn’t check for solid. Flaws the same on both sides:

1 Like