Teaching from Home - Students and I know AutoCAD, I am struggling!

Greetings,

I am a High School teacher who has started learning SketchUp for Schools and teaching it at the same time to my AutoCAD students. There are many things that I am struggling to figure out that I can’t find on YouTube or in forums. It looks like SketchUp can’t do simple things like draw a line tangent to a circle, snap to a quadrant of a circle and tangent, tangent, radius circles. Is this just a function of the schools version? What am I missing? Is there a way to STOP the program from automatically trimming or grouping objects that touch? Most of the help videos I find are not for SketchUp for schools so I do not have the menus that other versions of SketchUp have. I have been teaching this for two weeks and now that we are past the basics and trying to do more complicated things I am starting to regret choosing this program. Is there a SketchUp for Schools expert out there that can help me?

This video may help for tangent… You have to make group every seperate object to avoid trimming…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfaIqddUU7c

Have you checked out our SketchUp Campus video lessons yet? We have Fundamentals for mastering SketchUp basics and more complex stuff like cleaning up and exporting CAD files. - https://learn.sketchup.com/

1 Like

There is a plugin you can use for tangents…
http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=160780#p160780

Of course extensions aren’t implemented in the web-based SketchUp for Schools.

I don’t mean to be mean but what you are trying to do is a bit like saying, ‘I’m going to teach Greek to some students, I’ll be learning it as I go too but that shouldn’t be a problem as I’m fluent in French. Oh and the only reference material I have was written by Shakespeare.’