Suggestions to extruding a facade

Hello everyone,
this is my first topic in the forum… :slightly_smiling:

I’m a architecture student, i’m looking for the best way to create a 3D of a building:
i have to extrude this facade with these particular sunshades.

I’ve imported the lines from AutoCAD, and now i don’t know how to extrude the “black surface” without delete the triangular area of each hole… :tired_face:

Let me know,
thanks for your help!

Could you share the file you created in AutoCAD? It would be easier to help you than looking at that screen shot.

Keep in mind, if you do extrude that whole surface, you will create a large number of entities which will bloat the file. It might make more sense to use a texture or create a small section as a component that you can copy to fill the space.

yes sure i can…
it’s the file with only the interested facade, to apply at the rest of the library 3D…
tesi prospetto.dwg (205.7 KB)

here a reference to better understand the sunshade:

(by ted’a arquitectes)

i know that the file could be very heavy, but i need that filter to see the shadow on the interior wall…
i don’t know how to do!

I just went ahead and made an example by eye-balling your first screen shot.

I just drew a single segment and made it a component. The edge line segments are hidden.

Then I copied it to make an array.

If you use the CAD file, you’ll need to create a large face to put the lines on. An easy way to create all of the openings is to select the face you want to keep by double clicking with the Select tool. This will select the faces and the bounding edges. Hit Edit>Copy to copy it to the clipboard. Then delete all of the geometry of the grid. Next, hit Edit>Paste in Place.

i’ll try!
you could saved me… :v:

thanks a lot