Square tube modification

Hi All

I have created a square tube say 50x50 with a 5 mm wall, and saved it as a component. What is the easiest way now to cut the end of the tube at a 45 degree angle?

You could draw a cutting plane (a rectangular face) at the miter angle and use Intersect Faces. Since the tube is a component, open it for editing before making the cutting plane. After running Intersect Faces, erase the unneeded parts of the cutting plane and tube.

If you don’t put the cutting plane inside the component, you won’t have a face on the cut.

This should give you the idea.

cut

Thanks Dave
I’m fairly new to Sketchup I will give it a go and see how I get on. What you say seems simple, thank you.

Use the Protractor tool to set up a guideline at the miter angle and then draw a rectangle aligned with it as the cutting plane. Then you can select the plane and faces of the tube and run Intersect Faces> With Selection.

Notice in step two in my example there’s no black edge where the gray cutting plane passes through the curved surface. This indicates there’s no intersection there yet. in step three, the intersection has been made.

By the way, this same process will work for other things, as well. Suppose you want to drill holes in your tube or cut a notch out of it. Draw the shape of the drill bit or the notch, intersect it with the faces of the tube and then delete the cutter and the waste of the tube.

I used essentially the same technique to trim the ends of the barley twists on the table legs.
Barley Twist Table in Pine

And also to cut the pommel transition here:
pommel

I notice when I have made the cut it leaves the wall section as hollow rather than filled in, can I avoid that?