Software options

Hi Sketchup Gurus!

Please could I have some advise on what to choose software wise moving forward.

I have been using Sketchup for many years and did used to keep up to date with all the releases and licencing. I do use pro but stopped updating the licence and am on 2020.
I love using plugins with Sketchup, Clothworks and a few others I have paid for and others I have not.

The updates seemed to come quicker than I could keep up with. I dip in and out of Sketchup when needed, I use the 3D Warehouse quite a bit and have some files uploaded, some public some not.

I’ve just received a warning about support going for my version. Should I download my files for safety?

I do use Sketchup for Business and home life and am happy to pay for the privilege, it’s a goo tool for what I do but all of my other non virtual tools are kept sharp and in good working order, when I open the draw I can rely on them working as good as I left them.

I am however very nervous of loosing my plugins and online connection issues with all these new subscription options and reading some content on the forums with people battling away with these concepts I suppose this also has put me off updating.

What would you decide to do?

I’d like Sketchup with plugins on my laptop and have access to 3DWarehouse and perhaps look into Augmented reality so I can overlay my drawings live on my phone.
Your thoughts and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Seems like you’ve laid it out pretty clearly. Your profile says you are using SketchUp 2020. Assuming that is correct, you can continue using it but be aware that you will likely lose direct access to the 3D Warehouse and probably other web-based services at some point. This is inline with the “Current Minus Two” policy which has been in place for many years.