Skewed lines, shattered faces, and hairy circles. What's going on here?

I’m still fairly new to SU and CAD in general. I started drawing an adapter to size from scratch in SU with no importing or exporting involved. This part being about to fit within a 4" cube, resulted in a few skewed lines when intersecting circles and faces being deleted upon using the “follow me” tool. I found that scaling up by x5, x10, and x100 would yield better results. I’ve jumped back and forth between actual size and the above sizes in order to complete some of the trickier shapes, (radiused fillets around circles), as some tasks would not work correctly until I scaled up, and then back down. Every bore in the piece needs to countersunk, and some of the bevels will have skewed "shoulders which I can’t seem to avoid.

I came very close to completing the part, but one face decided to “shatter”. The more I tried to correct it, the worse it got. I removed every tiny sliver, which subsequently removed all of the side faces, too. Some of the radii on the sides became straight again…?? I’ve torn most of the model down and scaled to x1000 in the hopes that it would help. Same thing. I’m beginning to think I need to start all over at x1000 from the start. I’ve found a couple helpful posts that seem to point to drawing in a much larger scale from the begging as a solution. I did reveal all the hidden geometry and cleared out the funky stuff, but that didn’t do me any good.