SketchupPRO or SketchupMAKE?

I would like to learn to create objects for my model train N scale (1:160) like: bumpers, buildings, people, cars, etc.etc. using 3D printing.
At this point I’m looking for advice. Should I use SketchupPRO or SketchupMAKE?
Keep in mind I’m starting from scratch (some little experience in 2D with AutoCAD and Sketchup), that I’m going to take courses to learn the app, and that I’m doing this as a hobby and not for professional purposes.

If you are just getting started, I would recommend using the Make version. Keep in mind that you can’t legally use the results of the fruits of your labor to make any money. If you want to upgrade to Pro at a later time you can do so. I’ve been using SketchUp Make for 3D printing for several years now (along with SketchUp 8) and haven’t personally seen a need to purchase Pro … I can accomplish what I need with the Make version.

Good question @RJL! The answer can really be broken up into two parts. One based on the differences between Make and Pro on a technical level and the other on a legal level.

As for the technical part, Make has nearly all the same functions as pro. There are a few differences between them. The list can be found here: http://help.sketchup.com/en/content/sketchup-make-and-sketchup-pro

Now as for the legal part, as long as it is for Non-Commercial use (like a personal project, say for your N-Scale model railroad) you are in the legal clear. If you plan on selling things you make with SketchUp, you will need to get the pro license. The pro license is quite expensive, I would recommend that you play around with SketchUp Make for a while to be absolutely sure that SketchUp is the right program for you and that you will in fact, need a SketchUp Pro license before you buy one.