SketchUp Web versions capabilities

Hello I am new to SketchUp but a seasoned TinkerCad user. My main interest is building 3D finescale model locomotives.

I have set up a free web account and started to get familiar with some of the SketchUp features. I plan to start on the free version and then progress to a licenced version once I am confident that this is the package for me.

I am using the YouTube clips to learn but all of the clips show a different screen layout to the one I have access to through the free web version.

My question is whether the free web version of Sketchup is a very limited subset of the full features? Are the different layouts simply older versions or are they representative of the more sophisticated paid for version?

As far as I know the Free web version has almost if not quite all of the features of the current Pro version.

BUT…

It doesn’t support extensions at all, and may never do so.

So long as you are not (or not yet, anyway) using it for commercial purposes I think you would find it easier to learn on the last version of SU for desktop called Sketchup Make (v2017 was the last such version).

You can download it here for Windows or Mac, 64 bit only.

That version starts as a 30-day trial of the Pro 2017 equivalent, then reverts to Make.

The main things you don’t get in Make are some professional import and export file types, nor the Solid Tools.

But it does support plugins.

If you find it does meet your needs, and you want to use it for commercial purposes, then you would need one of the SU2020 paid for versions.