SketchUp pro render software for MacBook Pro

Hi,

So I have been using SketchUp pro on windows for 12 months, and rendering with Twilight. I am mainly using it for modelling of rooms with fitted furniture that I am designing.

I am looking at changing my windows PC to a MacBook Pro M1 with 16gb ram. (Not purchased yet)

I know twilight is a bit basic and quality of render is ok but looking to step it up a little.

So my question is ……

What render software should I look at that would make best use of the M1 chipset, and should I look at the m1 max model or will the m1 be more than capable?

2 Likes

Not a mac user but planning to be one, currently using lumion on windows. and based on what i found it does not work with mac. However there’s Twinmotion, works on mac and closely rivals lumion in terms of output quality and speed.

There are many topics about renderers on the forum that you could find via search. But so far few of them have M1 specifics as vendors have only begun releasing new versions for it.

1 Like

I’m a dedicated Mac user but if you’ve yet to purchase the M1 Mac I would suggest sticking with a Windows machine. If necessary upgrade to a machine that is spec’d specifically for rendering. Just looked at the Twinmotion site and yes it can run on a Mac but they state m1 chip is not yet fully supported. The main reason I suggest sticking with Windows is most of the fastest rendering software accesses the gpu to dramatically speed up the rendering process. I’ve yet to hear of a rendering program that allows processing to be shared by the gpu on Mac machines. Just to throw this in , there’s no easy plug and play solution for rendering. All of them require dedication and time spent to really learn to maximize the software. Also the very best render images usually have had a considerable amount of post processing done to them in Photoshop or similar. So skills on that side of the equation need to be developed.

1 Like