Sketchup pricing

Something wrong with Trimble rip off pricing
Personal licence $299/yr
Professional licence $299/yr

Profs I can understand as they make money from using the app, so should be happy to pay

but I am a longtime hobbyist since 2004 and have never made a bean from its use

It seems I am being unfailry victimised here and Trimble has seen fit to remove all forms of 3d modelling import files, eg dxf, kmz etc so I cant do contours from publicly available topo maps. - thats really spiteful

I would pay $50/yr just to get regular product updates, but I cant justify my hobby with $299/yr, nothing short of price gouging. Serious designers would use ACAD anyway

3 Likes

“Serious designers would use ACAD anyway”
Time to update your knowledge. ACAD is definitely a dinosaur these days.

1 Like

ACAD might be a dinosaur but is surely used still a lot especially w/ industry-specific extension (AEC)… for professionals required to create advanced 2D (shop) drawings.

yep, this is still a market.

2 Likes

Why have you switched to subscription and have not stayed with “Pro Classic” (perpetual)?

2 Likes

I am only presented with the subscription model which only features cloud apps. where is this Classic (desktop?) version?

Directly below that box there’s a link to the classic license. Also, I don’t believe there is such thing as a “personal license” for Pro.

Not sure why you think your software pricing should be free and/or drastically reduced simply because you don’t make money from it. You’re getting, literally, the same software as any professional, so you should expect to pay the same. You’re expecting pro functionality, afterall.

Finally, I can’t imagine how you concluded the pricing is a ripoff. At $299 a year, that’s only $25 a month. For anyone who uses it professionally, that’s about 1/2 hour of work, or far less depending on rate, essentially making a single client phone call pay for it.

1 Like