SketchUp Free: What's Missing

I’ve fiddled around with Free for a little while. To me, it’s a little like seeing SketchUp in a funhouse mirror. It looks as if Free isn’t compatible with plugins. That limits the complexity of the models that can be constructed in Free. Or am I missing something?

Unfortunately, SketchUp Free is not able to support a Ruby interpreter at this time, so it cannot run the same extensions that our SketchUp desktop clients can run. If you have extensions that you need to run for your work with SketchUp Free, you can continue to run them in SketchUp Make 2017.

If you are a SketchUp Pro user, you will find that all of your extensions will continue to work as well in SketchUp Pro 2018.

john

That is absolutely devastating news, I do all of my modelling with dozens of Ruby scripts that I have written myself over the years. I’m not going to ever going to buy Sketchup Pro because I am not a professional, modelling is just a hobby.

I don’t have consistent InterNet access, I am not going to be using Sketchup Free.

This marks the beginning of the end for Trimble Sketchup, as new users will not be drawn to Sketchup Free for modelling, and no one will then start using Sketchup Pro after using Sketchup Free.

And for me, this day marks the end of my modelling, because it is pointless to continue knowing Sketchup Make is never going to be fixed.

4 Likes

So, do I understand this means there will be no more SketchUp make?