Sketchup 2023 - fixes coming I hope?

I am posting this because I was asked to after filing a tech support request. I look forward to seeing 2023 improve :slight_smile: I have been a huge proponent of sketchup and have been using the product since around 2004. I use Sketchup and Layout exclusively with my small architectural design company. I look forward to every new version and have always been tolerant of the glitches that show up with a new release but I am finding 2023 to be more frustrating than rewarding. I am sure you are aware of a lot of these bugs but after just few days use: multiple bug splats, tool trays that wont’ keep their shape size and position, materials that don’t behave as usual when using the eye dropper , flip missing from the right click context menu, slower performance and screen freeze, trouble renaming with right click in outliner… IDK I am not a programmer but consider myself an experienced user and have happily used your product every day to design, document buildings. I appreciate the software’s ability to aid this process but right now I am tearing my hair out The new features that come with 2023 don’t balance the frustrations and while I can return to SU2022 I would rather continue to employ a software that grows to meet the needs of our design/build team. respectfully, Ben Bush Partner at Hillview Design Colaborative Richmond, VT

2 Likes

Flip along axes was replaced by the flip tool.
fliptool

The flip-along commands are still there, though only one for each axis (e.g. Flip Red) instead of two (model axis vs component axis), but they aren’t wired to the right-click menu or to any shortcut keys. You can assign your own shortcuts to them. Search for Flip in the shortcuts preferences/settings panel.

2 Likes

Good morning
I will add to the list of bugs:
Structure board: impossible to right click on a multiple selection. We lose the selection. Selecting via the structure panel no longer triggers the “on change” selection watcher.