Round Corner Overlap Issue Please Help

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to sketch up and I’m in the process of prototyping my first product which is a pot/planter for house plants. I’m having issues with using round corner to round the inside of my planter. It’s an octagon shape and I would like to round the inside with an offset of 1/8" if possible. I’ve been working on this for quite some time but I can never get the inside to be rounded without creating an overlap or gaps which result in the entire object not being solid. I have read that you can scale the entire object 100x, then using round corner, and then scaling it back. I’ve tried to do this method but it the overlapping still occurs. I’m not sure if I’m missing a step, if so can someone please offer some help or advice? Thank you in advance!

From my understanding the key with the ‘Dave’ method of scaling up by 100 or 1000 times, is to firstly make the item into a component. Then, copy the component and scale that one up.

Perform the operations on the scaled up version, and when done, just delete the large version.

As it is a component, any changes to the larger one will be reflected in the smaller, original.

I think it is best to start with perfectly symmetrical geometry.I created your pot from scratch. I made a quarter panel copied and flipped it both directions to form 1 of the octagon faces. Then I used a circular array. When I was done it made a volume without the need for any editing.

Octagon Medium 4_ Triangle Pattern.skp (193.8 KB)

The simplest way to create an octagon is to use the circle tool, type 8 s for 8 segments and then explode the curve. I also worked from the top center and used an index line so everything stayed perfectly aligned.

Thank you! I will give this a try and see if it works for me.